Summer is Here!

It’s the first week of July and the first week of having our kids home for the summer!  If you’re like me, I always have a little bit of anxiety when it comes to entertaining my kids for the hottest weeks of the year, but I also look forward to the extra time (and entertainment!) with my two favourite people.

We are lucky enough to live in a wonderful city with many different activities for children and families.  Water or splash parks are always a hit, and I can’t mention the word “pool” in my house without two excited little voices screaming to go!  We are an active family who really enjoy the outdoors and taking time to explore nature.  We use this time when the weather is cooperating to get outside,  learn new things and exercise while getting that vitamin D we crave!

I am one of the lucky few who get to work from home so I have the opportunity to spend most of the day with my girls.  I am also that mom who is a bit of a freak when it comes to summer safety!  I have a kit in my car with all the essentials to cool us down if we happen to get stranded anywhere, and there is always a few litres of water and bottles of sunscreen and bug repellent in there as well!  I find that keeping an old reusable shopping bag filled with non-perishable snacks and travel toys or games can come in handy for those times when a little entertainment is needed!  (Dont forget to throw a couple of sun hats and first aid kit in there too!)

The most important thing about Summer with the kids is having fun and enjoying the moments we have together.  Time goes by much too quickly and before we know it our kids will be teenagers and wont want anything to do with us!  Every day I cherish the little arms that squeeze my neck so tight,  and the warm, lazy days that make it a pleasure to picnic outside.  I even love the times when a mischievousness three year-old sprays me with ice-cold water from the hose or gives me sticky watermelon kisses.  Summer is definitely my favourite season!

Leave a Reply

