Summer Popsicles

I love summer because of the Popsicle!  I find it such a great treat for the kids and since I make my own we can think any flavor we like.  I have several different types of molds that I have collected over the years.  The ones I dislike the most are the ones that are long and skinny since they always seem to break when I am trying to remove them.  My favorite are the ones that sit in holders in the freezer.  I picked up a set of these from Superstore the other day.

The kids and I made some last week and came up with a recipe of our own:

1 cup sugar syrup

lemon juice – either fresh or concentrate

a handfull of blueberries

For the sugar syrup I use 1/2 cup sugar and 3/4 water and boil it and then cool it.  I usually made a couple batches and store it in the fridge for popsicles.  I add lemon juice to taste to take away most of the sweetness but not too much.  Pour this into the molds and then add about 12 blueberries to each mold and freeze.

My other favorite recipe from when we were kids is:

1 can frozen pink lemonade

1 500ml container plain yogurt

1 cup milk

Mix all together and pour into molds and freeze.  This is by far the one my kids love the most.

Do you make your own pops?  Any favorite recipes you have?

2 thoughts on “Summer Popsicles

  1. I have four kids ranginf from 19-4 and they all love my Jello popsicles. I find Jello is the best for popsicle as It doesnt break into chunk, it shaves off so you dont have to worry about choking plus they have amazing flavors to.

  2. Pingback: Month in review – June | Kids in Cowtown

Leave a Reply

