ABC Photo Challenge – Update

This weather is such a downer!  Anyone else feel uninspired to take photos?  I am secretly waiting for spring to arrive for puddle jumping and flower planting and outdoor activities to get the camera out!

So I thought I’d take this chance to share some links to local photographers that inspire me.  I really need to sit and go through their blogs so that I can  feel inspired again to pick up the camera and get in my kids faces!  Here’s a list of some of my fav local photogs:

Sprout Photo – I was drawn to Erin Baer’s photos for the simplicity and light.  She captures such happy moments and such adorable smiles!

Short and Sweet Photography – Ok so technically Okotoks but definitely close enough!  I took Dana’s Photography for Parents class and loved it.  I am sharing her Pughville blog since I find the photos so personal as they are of her own family.  Do check out her photography site as well though and see what kinds of pictures she can take of your family!

Fresh Sugar – Love love love the colour and feel of these photos!  Brandy is so artistic and creative!

Bowes Photography – Danna Bowes has some beautiful photos.  I especially love this post on her blog – who knew the iPhone could take such great pictures?!

Both Brandy and Danna also have another site, Moms that Click! They offer classes to parents to help See Creatively and to learn how to use your DSLR (since if you start following any of these blogs and don’t already have one you’ll be asking for one for Christmas!).

Any local photographers inspire you?  Tell us some of your favorite local sites or blogs of photography that inspires you to get the camera out!

And once you do get that camera out and take pictures of the kids in Calgary then head on over to Visit Calgary’s Capture WOW contest and enter those photos.  Let’s show everyone the places and moments we love best about this city!

One thought on “ABC Photo Challenge – Update

  1. Thank you for the shout out! I think winter is a hard time for most photographers, but I use the time to stretch myself with personal projects and coming up with fun things to do through the next portrait season. I do love the sunshine though 😉 Anytime of year, but it is especially nice in the winter because the snow is one giant reflector!! Thanks for doing this. We have such talent in this city.

Leave a Reply

