Cloth Diapers

So many moms ask “why cloth?”. There are so many great reasons to cloth diaper your children. Let’s consider environmental, health and cost…

Environmental

Did you know if you discarded every disposable diaper you used on one child from birth to potty training you could fill your entire back yard of dirty diapers?

Did you know it takes 100 years for a disposable diaper to decompose?

Wow and Ewww!

I’m not sure about you but I would like my children and their children to have a planet to live on in the coming years. If we continually “dispose” all these convenience items into our landfills where will we be in 10, 50, 100 years?

Now I have heard the reasoning of cloth diapers using extra water to wash cloth diapers 1-2 per week “an extra load’ as not being environmentally friendly. Last time I checked water was a renewable resource…..

Health

Pampers just recalled a large portion of there diapers for chemical burns to children. Excuse me? Mild or not, that is scary. Skin is our largest organ consistently absorbing chemicals we expose it to on a daily basis. Suppose we could control a portion of what we expose it to? Well we can with cloth diapers! Bleach is brutal not only for our environment but to our health as well. Why would we choose to have this touch our babies delicate skin?

Babies wear diapers for approximately 2.5 years. Can you imagine wearing a maxi pad for 2.5 years? Cloth diapers are breathable, let those little bums feel some air!

Cost

I must confess, our daughter was not cloth diapered as a baby (we started cloth at potty training with some amazing cloth training pants). I spent approximately $2500 on disposable diapers. My son has been cloth diapered since birth. I purchased 18 one size diapers (5-35 lbs) for $350! Can you imagine if I purchased these for my daughter and reused them on my son? Wow! That’s a trip to Disneyland….

Cloth diapers have come a long way. Have you seen the cute little bums in cloth diapers? Have you noticed most ad’s with babys in diapers are wearing cloth diapers? There are colors and prints galore! Say goodbye to those boring saggy bum disposables and check these pictures out…..

Crystal spends her day’s home with two busy children under 5. She is a cloth diaper advocate, contemplating having a 3rd just to continue the cloth diaper journey. She promotes popular cloth diapers locally and online at www.cowtownkids.ca

One thought on “Cloth Diapers

  1. If you like cloth diapers but hate doing laundry, you’re in the same boat as me. I used Happy Nappy Diaper Service with my first child and just signed up to use it with my second.

Leave a Reply

