Birth Order

by Jennifer
I think we’ve all heard of the effects of birth order on personality.
When I started having children, I didn’t really believe in the whole birth order personality thing. I mean, could birth order really affect someone’s personality that much? Aren’t people just born with their personality? My disbelief in this phenomenon probably had something to do with me being an only child.
However, my doubts were quickly squashed as soon as I had my 3rd child. All of a sudden, I could see that birth order plays a HUGE role in determining personality.
First born children are:
  • People pleasers
  • Nurturers
  • Reliable
  • Cooperative
  • Perfectionists
  • Driven
These characteristics describe my oldest, Caleb, to a tee. He is so easy to get along with. He wants to please everyone all the time. He listens. He’s quiet. He’s a perfectionist. He’s…..me!
And what mom doesn’t want a kid that can sit and watch one waterfall for hours at a time?!
Then there’s the middle child! Middle children are:
  • Impatient
  • Friendly
  • Loud
  • Flexible
  • Rebellious
  • Attention Seekers

Again, these characteristics describe my middle child, Justin, perfectly. If I had just one word to describe Justin, it would befirecracker! He knows exactly what he wants, when he wants it. And he is not afraid to let you know it. Sometimes I wonder if he was switched at birth! Seriously. The nurse did take him for bath so that I could get some rest shortly after he was born……

But he can also be very flexible and easy going, willing to try anything. He is so kindhearted and sweet when he wants to be. Okay, so maybe he is related after all 🙂
Just look at that cute little smirk on his face!
And last but not least, the last born children:
  • Risk takers
  • Good sense of humor
  • Immature
  • Sensitive
  • Affectionate
Yep, that’s my baby boy, Benjamin! I still call him the baby even though he’s 27 months old. He is always making us laugh. He is easy going yet very sensitive. He’s got the qualities of both his older brothers. I guess that makes sense since he literally and figuratively looks up to them!
I love that all 3 of my boys are different. It keeps me on my toes. I have to switch to different parenting techniques for each child. But really, how boring would life be without a firecracker to shake things up?!
I find the subject of birth order fascinating. My 3 boys have made me a complete believer.
Jennifer has called Calgary home for 30 years.  She’s currently a stay-at-home mom to 3 little boys ages 5 and under and blissfully married to her husband of 8 years who is her 5:00 p.m. savior!  You can read all about her at her blog, 3 Little Monkeys.
One thought on “Birth Order

  1. Pingback: Month in review – December | Kids in Cowtown

Leave a Reply

