One Million

by Danielle

I recently found Usborne books.  Ok, well, that is not entirely true.  I grew up with Usborne books.  When we lived in Europe my mother bought me several books that I still have and enjoyed for many years.  I used a lot of them for school reports and projects.  What I recently found was that I could buy them here for my kids and for young kids.  One book that I absolutely love is “How Big is a Million?”.

Photo courtesy of Raising Joey

If you have a child who is learning to count and asks about how many items there are then this is a great learning tool.  What I love is that it is especially great for teaching your child how many people live in Calgary.  Ok, so the population is actually 1,071,515 according to the 2010 civic census, but 1 million is close enough for a kid.  I pulled this book out after having a conversation with my daughter about how many people there were living in Calgary.  This gives a child a grasp of just how many people that is and how big our city is.  I won’t give the ending away – you’ll have to find a copy at the library or buy your own to figure out how we can teach kids about numbers over 100!

Danielle is mom to a 4 year old daughter and (almost) 2 year old son and always looking for fun things to do with the kids.  She blogs at Four Days Home.

One thought on “One Million

  1. Pingback: Month in review – December | Kids in Cowtown

Leave a Reply

