Creative Gift Tag Ideas

by Sharon

The tree is up, the house is decorated and the cookies are baking in the oven.  Now it is time to get those presents wrapped!  If you’re like me, you probably have a collection of wrapping paper that was purchased at after-holiday sales.  My problem is that I always forget to buy gift tags.  So, in an attempt to be a bit creative and frugal, I came up with the following ideas that used items I already had in my house.

Idea #1: Use up some of that wrapping paper!  I went through my stash of wrapping paper, and I found some snowman paper that I bought several years ago.  By cutting around one of the snowmen, and gluing the paper to some cardboard I found in the recycling bin, I was able to make a cute tag.  To attach it to a present, simply poke a hole, either with a hole punch or with the tip of your scissors, and thread a scrap of ribbon through the hole.  This type of tag could be used as a matching set with the wrapping paper it came from or use it with coordinating paper for a more eclectic look.

Idea #2: Recycle last year’s Christmas cards!  Every year we receive a pile of holiday cards, and there are always some that stand out for their beauty.  I have saved a few over the years, and now I can reuse them as tags!  Simply take your favourite card and color copy it at 50% (or whatever percentage works for you).  I used my home all-in-one printer to make mine, but you could take yours to an office supply store that makes color copies as well.  After printing, I glued mine to some cardboard and added a ribbon.  Because this idea uses copies of the cards, not the actual card, you can stash the originals away to use again.

Idea #3: Giant Letters.  For my next idea, I used some felt that I had in my craft bin from another project.  I have also done this type of tag with craft foam and fabric.  Simply cut a giant letter out of the felt and voila, you have a gift tag.  I like to use sticky backed felt so I can stick cardboard to the back.  This gives me a place to write my “To” and “From”.  If you’re having trouble making certain letters, simply use a word processing program to make a large-sized letter template and print it out.

Idea #4: Hit the recycling bin!  It doesn’t get much easier than this, or any greener.  I simply grabbed a plastic lid out of the recycling bin, gave it an extra wash, and cut along the edge to make a circle.  You can cover up the back side with some extra wrapping paper, stickers, or leave it as is for a truly recycled look.  I then used a permanent marker to write my “To” and “From” on the blank side.  This idea would be fun if you had the lid to a type of food that the gift recipient was fond of or if the recycled plastic coordinated with the actual gift.  You could also cut the plastic into other fun shapes or use soup can lids that have either had the edges smoothed down or fabric or ribbon hot glued over the edges.

A few other ideas that I had while making these, but have yet to try out included, using cork (either pre-made coasters, or craft cork that you can buy in rolls) to make gift tags for a nice bottle of wine, using scanned photos of holidays past or favourite places as personalized tags, or using small ornaments with the “To” and “From” written on them in permanent marker.  All of these ideas are fun, easy, and they won’t eat into your holiday budget.

If you have any gift tag ideas you’d like to share, please do!  I’m always looking for new ideas!!

Sharon is a New England girl who never imagined that she’d find herself living in Canada. She has a wonderful husband and together they created a Diva Monster. Follow her on her crazy journeys at Nanas Button Jar!!

One thought on “Creative Gift Tag Ideas

  1. Pingback: Month in review – December | Kids in Cowtown

Leave a Reply

