Santa’s Key

by Danielle

We do not have a fireplace.  Ok let me rephrase that.  We have an electric ‘fake’ fireplace but no chimney.  Like many homes in Calgary there is not an actual chimney for kids to see to be able to imagine Santa coming down it.  So when my husband and I saw this book a couple years ago in Chapters’ bargain bin we snatched it up immediately.  It is called “Santa’s Key” and was a gift set that came with a key.

It tells the story of Santa and how he’s worried about how to get into people’s homes to leave gifts since so many people don’t have chimneys anymore.  So he devises a plan to give every kid a key to hang outside for him to get in.  It’s a magic key of course so no one else can enter.

When I pulled out the holiday decorations for my daughter this year I read this book to her and we found the key in our bins.  I told her Santa sent it a couple years ago for us.  I make sure to keep it away from her so it doesn’t get lost before we use it Christmas eve.  But now I have a way to avoid having her worry when she realizes that we don’t have a chimney!

Even if you can’t find a copy of this book I am sure the library may have a copy and you can simply make a key for the kids from an old key (don’t use your actual house key!) with a note from Santa to remember to put it out Christmas eve!

Danielle is mom to a 3.5 year old daughter and 1.5 year old son and always looking for fun things to do with the kids.  She blogs at Four Days Home.

2 thoughts on “Santa’s Key

  1. I picked up a large cast iron key with a wooden sign that says Santa’s Magic Key for the exact same reason. My son puts it out each year in our wooden shoes on the front porch for Santa to be able to get into our house. I got it from Gramma’s Attic home parties.

  2. Pingback: Month in review – December | Kids in Cowtown

Leave a Reply

