Holiday Birthday Party

by Danielle

My daughter has her birthday close to Christmas.  We still want to be able to celebrate it without it getting mixed up in the Christmas events.  But if you have a child with a birthday in the winter months you know that finding an activity to do with them is challenging.  As a preschooler she and several of our friend’s kids are too young to have the skating or tobogganing & hot cocoa parties and so we usually are confined indoors.  What do you do with a bunch of kids who are trapped indoors and eating sugar without going absolutely crazy??

Last year I planned a gingerbread house decorating party.  I was a perfect theme for a birthday.  I made the invitation look like a gingerbread man with the details written on the back.  I then ordered gingerbread houses from my friend Krista who owns Simply Sweet Ltd.  She offers great party packages which minimize the prep before hand since they came with pre-packed candy and icing bags!  They were wrapped in cellophane which I saved so the kids could pack them and take them home as the loot bag.  The kids had a blast decorating and it filled the time to avoid them being bored and rambunctious!

Along the same theme I also built a cardboard gingerbread house for the kids to play in.  It took a lot of prep ahead of time but I it lasted and I have it to pull out again this year for the kids to play in.  And I thought it was just too cute!  I painted it and glued stuffing to the sides as an illusion of snow.

So next time you are planning on throwing a winter birthday consider a gingerbread house decorating party.  The kids will love it!

Danielle is mom to a 3.5 year old daughter and 1.5 year old son and always looking for fun things to do with the kids.  She blogs at Four Days Home.

4 thoughts on “Holiday Birthday Party

  1. LOVE this idea! My son’s birthday is Dec 27 and I know what you mean about trying not to mix it up with Christmas. This year we are going to Gymtastics, but I think next year we will steal your idea!

  2. Super! My girls are December 1 and December 25 (yes, ugh..Christmas). Going to pocket this one for the future. We are having a party on Saturday with a “fashionista” theme…perhaps I will blog it!

Leave a Reply

