Paper Dolls with a Twist

by Sharon

In a search to find some new creative toys for my 3 ½ year old daughter, I thought back to my own “crafty” childhood.  My Mom was/is super crafty, and she was always helping us with art projects of one kind or another.  One of my favorite rainy day activities was cutting out and playing with paper dolls.  However, I also remember the days of torn dresses, missing pieces and a grumpy me, so I thought I’d make my little one some paper dolls with a twist…magnets!!

There are many websites that have printable dolls, so with a bit of searching, you are bound to find some that fit your child’s style.  For us, we both really liked the ones we found on the site, babalisme.  They offered some really cute designs and were easy to download.

To make the dolls, it is a simple as printing the sheets off on magnetic paper, which can be found at most department or office supply stores with the other printer paper.  It took some time to cut out all of the accessories, but in the end was worth it.  One time saver is that with magnets, you don’t need to cut around the little flaps that typically hold clothes on real paper dolls.

A cookie sheet works great as a background for the dolls.  To store the pieces, we bought a metal box (like the ones used for cookies, etc) at the craft store.  This also doubles as a travel toy, since we don’t have to worry about Hannah losing the pieces.  For smaller dolls, I suggest using a metal gift card holder to store the dolls.

Enjoy!

Sharon is a New England girl who never imagined that she’d find herself living in Canada. She has a wonderful husband and together they created a Diva Monster. Follow her on her crazy journeys at Nanas Button Jar!!

Leave a Reply

