Kids in Cowtown

Bacon, Egg, & Cheese Muffins and more…

Well, with an upcoming move, I must admit that the month of May was spent mostly eating at some of our favourite haunts one last time.  Nothing too exotic ended up on the agenda.  Instead, I did get a bit creative in the kitchen and I wanted to share a few recipes that are worth trying out.

Both of these ideas came from Pinterest.  If you haven’t checked out the site, you must! Not only is it a place to collect ideas for crafts, decorating, new products, but you can also find lots of cool food ideas!

First up were the Bacon, Egg & Cheese Biscuit Muffins.  These looked so easy and tasty that I knew I had to give them a try.  We were also gearing up for a “get the house ready for an Open House” scrub down, so these grab-and-go muffins seemed to be the perfect way to make sure that everyone ate a good breakfast.
I followed the recipe with a few exceptions.  I used regular bacon and not the turkey or veggie alternatives.  I also added a bit of chopped chives from the garden for a bit of flavor.  The recipe says that they should be done in 10 to 12 minutes.  I found that it took at least 20 minutes before the egg set to my liking.  Perhaps the Calgary altitude was playing tricks with me again.  Finally, be sure to put a baking sheet under your muffin pan.  I had a super-fun time cleaning egg off the bottom of my oven!

All in all, these were as great as they looked.  They are supposed to be served warm, but I actually liked them better after they had been in the refrigerator for a bit.  The egg and biscuit almost had a quiche taste to it.  I highly recommend trying this recipe and there is a lot of room to add your own spin to it too.

The second recipe that I was seeing all over Pinterest and had to give a try was the Ice Cream Bread.  Hmmm…softened ice cream and self-rising flour?  That’s it?  It was too good to be true.  I didn’t have either item in the pantry at the time, so off to the store we went.  After much deliberation, we decided on Maple Walnut ice cream.   The woman who shared the recipe online used Butter Pecan and said it was delicious as well.

This is a great recipe to try when you go grocery shopping and get home to find that your ice cream has started to soften up.  If yours needs a bit of help melting, simply let it sit on the counter for a bit…or do what I did, put it in a glass bowl and let it sit on the stove top while the oven preheated…perfectly softened ice cream in no time!

I must say that this bread is delicious and just as easy as it claims to be!  In 45 minutes we had slightly sweetened bread with a hint of maple flavor.  I wish that more of the maple had come through though.  I am anxious to try a stronger flavored ice cream, such as mint chocolate chip, to see if that makes a difference.  In the meantime, we are gobbling ours down with some of my homemade apple-cinnamon butter on top.  The two work together perfectly!  This bread is a great sweet breakfast treat or dessert.  The simplicity of it makes it a great go-to recipe for last-minute get-togethers.  No one will ever believe what it is made of!

Both of these recipes are great to make with your little ones.  Hannah had a blast pushing the biscuit circles into the muffin tins for the breakfast muffins and she still thinks it is magic that we made bread out of two simple ingredients.

So, here is your homework…
*Go check out Pinterest
*Find some yummy looking recipes
*Try them out
*Then, report back on what you made…I’m always looking for some new suggestions!
Happy Cooking!

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Comments

  1. Yikes..I am too young to be called a woman! LOL LOL LOL. Thanks for linking up to my blog for my ice cream bread! The key to it is to use full fat ice cream. The low fat makes it dry. I am glad your was tasty!

Trackbacks

  1. Month in review – June | Kids in Cowtown

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

